Eighty Seven: Small World

“Take the attitude of a student, never be too big to ask questions, never know too much to learn something new.”  – Og Mandino

“The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existing.”  – Albert Einstein

Friday, March 28th

Today was like any other day. Usually I call that normal. Today I call it extraordinary!

I took my son to the playtime we like to attend during the week. It’s held on Wednesdays and Fridays, and the Friday sessions are usually lightly attended. When we showed up at 11 am, no one else was there. I doubted whether we would stay long, but within 15 minutes another mother showed up with her two sons. She was bubbly and conversational, and before long our kids were playing and we were engaged in a good chat.

In the last five minutes of the playtime, I pressured the staff member to make a pot of coffee. I overheard the Mom saying that she had given up dairy as she poured herself a cup. I knew she had been raised in Sudan, and I suspected that maybe her faith had led her to her dietary change so I asked her about it. She told me that it was associated with Lent, so I asked if she attended the Orthodox church in our city to which she said yes. I know two young men who attend the Orthodox Church as well, so I thought that perhaps their paths had crossed. These gentlemen are very strong and devoted in their faith. They are also Caucasian, so they would stand out in an Ethiopian Orthodox congregation. What followed amazed me! My new friend told me that she had been in a book store and seen these young men with their Bibles clutched to their hearts and wearing the sharma. She had never seen this growing up, and she had never seen it in America. She was quick to point out that what she experienced was not prejudice, but complete surprise. This was something rare and awe-inspiring.

My husband is good friends with these two young men, and they have been present in our lives for a number of years now. It felt satisfying to ask the right question to bring my circle together with my new friend’s, and to experience a neighborly love as a byproduct of our mutual friends’ faith. As simple as this revelation was, I felt like it bonded me to this mother in a different way and we were even more excited to continue our chat. I think we stayed an extra hour at the playtime! 

Do you see evidence in your life of how truly small the world really is?

More…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

