Eighty Two: Away

“Old friends pass away, new friends appear. It is just like the days. An old day passes, a new day arrives. The important thing is to make it meaningful: a meaningful friend – or a meaningful day.” – Dalai Lama

“Life is available only in the present moment. If you abandon the present moment you cannot live the moments of your daily life deeply.” – Thich Nhat Hanh

Sunday, March 23rd

Today was the day that my dear friend that I’ve known since the age of 6 turned 40. I was so pleased and honored to be there with her to celebrate. One of my gifts to her was my undivided attention.

I get ahead of myself, so staying in the moment is a continual struggle and (by definition) practice for me. Yet being away from my family was a needed relief; I love them through and through, but it was healthy for me to have a break from them. The birthday girl understood this; she wasn’t entertaining ongoing texts from her love interest. She had invited her friends for a weekend away, so the phone was on the table instead of actively engaged in her hand.

I find that in knowing my friend over so many years the greatest comfort comes from being truly present with her. There are so many old stories and moments we’ve shared, but if we were to only talk about the past then I wouldn’t feel all that relevant in her present life. I value having a friend who is a fixture in my life, if not part of my daily experience at least part of the bigger picture and not going anywhere.

How do you negotiate the swirl of old friends with the new?

More…

 

Tagged

Leave a Reply

