Eighty: Friends of Friends

“There’s always a good lesson in meeting new people, it’s enlarging your circle of friends. And though there are times you don’t match with their likes, there are some whom you just blend well.”  – Solita

Friday, March 21st

Last Friday, I woke up within minutes of a friend of a friend stationed on the other side of the couch. I was on the airbed, and managed to get a little shuteye between the snores, the neighboring train, and the squidgy sound of the airbed. It was enough sleep to get me rolling out of bed and onto the second leg of transport on the women’s get-away.

I’d already had an opportunity to have a one-to-one chat with my new friend, and conversation rolled on easily without effort. I’m tragically pathetic at meeting new people; it takes me a long time to relax and open up to others. I find it much easier one-to-one, so the sleepover at our mutual friend’s was a great way socially for me to start the trip. We were off in a dash to meet two other friends and bus to our final destination.

I was immediately struck by the social pecking order, and the ways that this pre-existing group of friends interacted with one another. In many ways, I was a fly on the wall because I didn’t know much about their history and I wouldn’t be around on a regular basis in the future. As the day went by, I saw how sweetly these women and their friendships pieced together. And as nervous as I was about folding into their fray, they welcomed me with open arms. And why shouldn’t we get along? We all share a best friend!

Our first stop after checking in to our hotel was to go out for a drink and a bite. The drinks kept flowing and we ended up having such a good time that we missed our opportunity to go tubing down the mountain. When the glasses were empty, I felt like I had been indoctrinated into the club. Yes!

How are you socializing with friends of friends? What feelings does it bring up for you?

More…

Tagged

Leave a Reply

