Seventy Six: Forgetting

“A retentive memory may be a good thing, but the ability to forget is the true token of greatness.”  – Elbert Hubbard

I always thought my memory was infallible. I’m pretty good with faces, and usually remember the names of people I have met. I pride myself on being a good speller. Well, perhaps this is the beginning of the end of that era. But I’m going to fight the decline as long as possible because, well, it’s nice to be sharp.

Every year, I find out one day late that my best friend from university had her birthday. There are certain things that slip through the cracks continually. I know her birthday is close to St. Patrick’s Day but for the life of me I can’t remember whether it is a day earlier or a day later. This in no way reflects how I feel about her. I just simply cannot remember her birthday.

Technology has saved me big time in this department. We are not expected to remember dates anymore. If it isn’t on Facebook then it doesn’t need to acknowledged, right? But still, I might be from the last generation that actually still has the phone numbers of childhood friends stuck in their head. I owe it to my people to fight for my memory, and set a precedent for getting clued in rather than progressively more clued out.

So how should I go about this? Brain teasers? Word searches? Sudoku? Learning a new language?

What is it important to remember over the years?

More…

Tagged

Leave a Reply

