Fifty Eight: Busy News Day

“Never forget that anticipation is an important part of life. Work’s important, family’s important, but without excitement, you have nothing. You’re cheating yourself if you refuse to enjoy what’s coming.” – Nicholas Sparks, Three Weeks With My Brother

Wednesday was a slow day, and Thursday was mad! I had scheduled things from the top to bottom of my day. Still, I am learning to go with the flow and accept pitfalls and unexpected changes in direction. Those changes take me to the places I need to be.

The first order of business was to drop my daughter off at school. We visited the little clutch of salmon eggs that had fully hatched into wriggling little fries. We read books on the classroom carpet, and said goodbye with a kiss

Now my son and I were off to home for a walk-around with a local environmentalist who has a grant to help landowners convert their lawn to evergreen native plants. It was an interesting and insightful time, and yet somehow my 3-year-old  was not so impressed when I broke off a mucky end on the stick he was carrying around. He spiraled into an all-out tantrum and I had to walk him back home. His temper flared and my flared back. Roaring didn’t calm either of us down. Eventually, we hugged and joined back in the tour…until my little companion couldn’t get snack time off of his mind.

After the walk, my little buddy and I jetted off to the library to catch the last bit of a story time. He’s one of the oldest kids there, but he loves being around all the little people. He’s usually the little guy in the group, so it’s sweet to see him play with younger kids. He made a skunk mask craft after he rolled around on the stuffed toys the librarian pulls out of the closet. That mask went with him everywhere.

We had a few minutes before a playtime at a local community center, so we grabbed a burrito. By the time we got back to the center, there was some other event in full swing. It took me a while to glean that it was a training for math teachers to provide culturally competent instruction. I saw a vaguely familiar face and I found that it was an old work colleague of mine. I was proud to say that I was with my son full-time, and savored our one-to-one playtime thoroughly.

From there, Son and I went to pick up daughter. I realized that the anticipation I had for this day was transferring into the needed energy to keep up with traveling all over town. I loved the early years of raising my newborns, but there is something more dynamic and literally engaging in parenting young children. Our circles have expanded and we bring a lot more than our family experience into our shared lives.

I had one more meeting before I picked my husband up from work. I’d been volleying emails with a school coordinator, and she suggested we simply meet in person to get things rolling. It worked, and I am incredibly inspired to get a host of projects rolling for the spring.

This seems to happen every year. A part of me blossoms with the crocuses. I send out new shoots. I stretch to the sun. I’m ready to grow.

Are you feeling Spring yet?

More…

 

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

