Forty Three: Fresh Air

“Who will tell whether one happy moment of love or the joy of breathing or walking on a bright morning and smelling the fresh air, is not worth all the suffering and effort which life implies.”  – Erich Fromm

Oh how I have literally needed a breath of fresh air! I had tacked up at least nine days of being outdoors in a house filled with illness, one week of nursing others back to health and the last two days getting myself back in shape. I love my home, but I like to think of it as a resting place and not necessarily a place to linger during the daytime.

I had the car on Wednesday, so I dropped my daughter off at school and kept rolling towards freedom. My son and I had our hoodies and mittens on and were ready to put our feet to pavement. My son was just as excited to get outdoors, and proved to be a cooperative little companion. We put one foot in front of the other and ended up at our unplanned destination. It feels like my day is a personal success if I experience something new or think along new lines. Maybe a little fresh air deprivation ushered that all along.

How do you celebrate getting over an illness?

More…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

