Forty One: Wasted

“Illness is the doctor to whom we pay most heed; to kindness, to knowledge we make promise only; pain we obey.”  – Marcel Proust

The body is a magnificent machine, ticking in time much of the time until something gets caught in the cogs and systems begin to grind, smoke, and eventually shut down. This machine was laid out with the stomach flu Monday.

If I wake up with a cold then I usually try to muscle my way through the obligations of the day, but when a stomach bug strikes I politely let my husband know that I am down for the count. And while I was writhing on the bathroom floor, I couldn’t help but think of how destructive a microscopic bacteria could be and how so many people in this world are so vulnerable to dysentery for easily preventable reasons. Yep, I was making plans to save the world’s water supply in between wretches.

I do not like being sick, but being physically humbled makes me more appreciative of my daily health, the caring love of family and neighbors, and the basic amenities to heal myself.

What are you taking for granted today?

More…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

