Thirty Six: Nurturing

hug_Fotor_Collage

“The production of children, the nurture of those born, and the daily life of men, of these matters woman is visibly the cause.”  – Guru Nanak

Nurturing our loved ones is a choice, each and every day, but for me there are days when my expectations don’t mesh with my obligations. I put my desires ahead of my children’s. They don’t understand why my attention is divided and why I won’t help them on the potty or grab their art supplies off of the shelf for them at a moment’s notice. Sometimes the constant stream of requests maxes me out and I bring that stress to my conversations with them. I don’t want my kids to view me as Mama Outburst.

Today, however, was a success. It was my daughter’s second day home sick from school, and maybe I hit my stride after her frustrating first day home. The biggest frustration was that both of my children would run around and expel so much of the energy I wanted them to hold in for rest and repair. So I decided to engage their creative sides, and offer a steady flow of art projects: play dough, making paper dolls, drawing a street map for toy cars, and so on. This gave me time to prepare snacks and get an exercise or two in. I used music and our family YouTube channel to entertain us through most of the day while we crafted. By time the afternoon rolled around, we were all ready for a long snuggle session and some cartoons. Here I was trying to heal them, but their snuggles nurtured my soul to the core.

How do you nurture yourself and others?

More…

Altered photos from Flickr Creative Commons: Toshimasa Ishibashi; “Lucas with Teta Nabila” by Sherif Salama; and “Morsans nya kompis” by Andreas Eldh

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

