Thirty Seven: The Innate Awareness of Children

kidevolution

“Grown-ups never understand anything by themselves, and it is tiresome for children to be always and forever explaining things to them.”  – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

I have been sitting down for just over a month now to write about my life at this junction point – turning 40. I, like the rest of you, am trying to figure it all out. Who am I? Where am I headed? How am I treating myself and others? And then a little sprout comes up with all the answers.

I found this little work of art tucked meekly in the pile of scribbles my daughter had been working on. She is a prolific artist. Most of the works bear an incredible similarity to the last one/ten/hundred drawings, and for that I love her blissful ignorance of how many trees she is taking down in the process. She is engaged in the wild abandon of letting her vision manifest on the paper. And I have to say, I think she nailed the human condition here, Folks.

I don’t even want to try and pick apart the beauty of this drawing…because sometimes it is good to just let things be. But I can’t help but share what wisdoms this brings up for me. Thank you, Daughter!

Don’t worry. Be happy. My happiness in life truly depends on the perspective I bring to my days. If I’m having a rough time, try smiling with my eyes. Then the chances are that I will end up smiling all over.

Raise Your Hands. It is a wonderful thing to share the love and wisdom we gain through life with others. That sharing might be in words. It might be through art. It might be through the raising of your hands to inspire others.

Everyone has experience. Everyone has wisdom. Children understand our world differently because of their unique position in the home, in the community, and in society. So do our elders. So does the garbage disposal worker, the fast food employee, and the grocery store clerk. Be open to learning from everyone.

We are not alone. Look to others for support and encouragement in good times and bad.

Who are you not listening to in your life? Have you ever gained a valuable insight from a stranger?

More…

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

