Thirty Five: Direction(less)

“If you do not change direction, you may end up where you are heading.”  – Lao Tzu

When I quit my job to raise my babies, I struggled to find new terms to define myself. I had always put my everything into my work. It was so much of who I was. That was five years ago, and as I watch my youngest child grow closer to school age I wonder what the workplace holds for me in the future.

My first realization of being a stay-at-home-parent was that I was defined now by who I am and not by what I do. But who was I without this role I had for 8 hours+ a day? So I started to put energy into parenting. I could make it into a job by researching all the aspects of parenting I found interesting; it helped alleve the stress spurning from the physical and emotional demands of raising an infant. Everyone who deemed themselves worthy gave me a performance review, from snickering mothers at the community centers to parenting experts who knew the right way for me to feed, talk, or sleep with my baby. I saw that in order to succeed in this job I would need to be self-employed and answer to what felt right to my husband and I (with the advice of trusted professionals.) I believe that a big part of successful parenting is listening to oneself and building a better sense of self awareness; I know when I am yelling too much at my kids or allowing them to watch too much tv, just as much as I know how good it feels to snuggle up and read or play with them. If I am paying attention then hopefully I will be more responsive to the changes that need to happen for their benefit. That balance is different for every family.

I have tried to learn more about myself while I am at home with my kids. I have taken a number of non-credit classes to see if something piques my interest. I take out an obscene number of books from the library. I know that true happiness, to me, lies in following my own star. I think I am getting good at that, but where is this star leading me?

I am turning back to books. Lately, I’ve been thumbing through Ken Robinson’s “Finding Your Element”. I appreciate how this book is centered on building something greater than a job, rather a daily activity that we are passionate about and look forward to excelling at. I don’t think that this is my problem, honestly. I think that I can find a good match, but I have trouble asserting my worth in the work place. I’m happy when others want me around, but I have never ever negotiated a salary. That’s really kind of sad at my age. While I am not driven by financial gains, I see the value in being rewarded for the valuable services I can provide for an organization. So now the question is: how do I promote and assert myself in interviews?

I have time to figure this out before I start my job search in earnest, but I think I’m going to get a head start and start promoting the volunteer work that I’m doing. No time like today…

Are you passionate about your job? If not, what would be your ultimate job?

More…

Tagged

Leave a Reply

