Twenty Nine: Small Moments

“Do you know how there are moments when the world moves so slowly you can feel your bones shifting, your mind tumbling? When you think that no matter what happens to you for the rest of your life, you will remember every last detail of that one minute forever?”  – Jodi Picoult

At first glance, this day was as “normal” as every other day. Stretch. Check my email. Get my kid dressed and off to school. But with a second glance, there were several unforgettable moments of sheer sweetness.

It was “World Market Day” today. My husband and I had been helping our daughter make Guatemalan worry dolls over the last couple weeks, and today she would trade all these little beauties for other crafts and handmade foods made by her classmates. As us parents were hovering and waiting to help, my parent friend came over to say hello. She lives nearby and she had seen me and my son skipping down the road a couple of days ago. She was totally open about how it got her all choked up to witness this little moment, and that in turn got me choked up. I truly value the people in my life who share – their time, their wisdom, but most of all the emotions and experiences that make us less than strangers to one another.

The market was utter madness, albeit adorable, and it had completely overwhelmed my girl. She refused to walk around the room to ask others for trades and her stall was quiet for a few minutes. But then she had a rush. A sweet little girl (who had once been our neighbor years ago) recognized us and exuberantly offered her fan in trade for a doll. I emailed her mom to say hello, and she told me that her daughter had shared the doll with her younger sibling as she’d promised earlier that morning. There was another little boy who just sat in front of the worry dolls longingly. He must have traded all his wares, but he stood there just staring at the dolls.

Fast forward to bus pick-up time and I was caught in a torrential downpour. I sat under my umbrella for several minutes waiting for a flash of the school bus yellow on the horizon. Finally, the bus arrived and my daughter was the first to climb down the steps. I handed her an already-opened Dora umbrella, and she got the biggest smile on her face.

A couple of hours passed and my family had just finished dinner. The kids were wily, so we let them play around. I have several plastic buckeyballs that are safe to chuck around indoors, and my husband was playing catch with our son as our daughter curled up on my lap. Eventually, she rolled into the play and time slowed down so much for me that I seemed to be catching every detail of her smile as she chased her brother in glee. I couldn’t help but think that if I were to die tomorrow then this moment might very well be the moment that flashed before my eyes.

So there is my day. No theme. No great life lesson pondered. Just a beautiful collection of moments.

Are you paying attention to the moments unfolding around you?

More…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

