Twenty One: Big Picture

global

“If you’re reading this… Congratulations, you’re alive. If that’s not something to smile about, then I don’t know what is.”  – Chad Sugg

Over the last few days, I have had a fulfilling email conversation with a dear friend. She has been questioning inspiration, knowledge of Self, and how to deal with change. This is the good stuff, People! I found myself awake in the middle of the night to write an uninterrupted long-winded response. It felt so good to sit down and write my stream of consciousness to take stock of where I really am in the big picture, with the hope that it might help a friend on her own process of discovery.

I still wasn’t feeling well, so I jumped back into bed and put in Tom Shadyac’s “I AM” – a documentary on a Hollywood director’s mental breakdown and subsequent ideological shake-up of what really matters in life. He comes up with two answers he poses to several prominent thinkers: What’s wrong with the world? What can we do to change it?  The synchronicity between the film and my conversation was uncanny which left me with an elated feeling: I’m doing okay in life, my priorities are in the right place, and yes, it all comes down to love, compassion, and connection.

How does art (film, theatre, literature, visual art) inspire you and connect you to others?

More…

Altered photo from Flickr Creative Commons, “Globes” by Ian McLellan Photography

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

