Twelve: Color My World

color2_Fotor_Collage

“Life is about using the whole box of crayons.” – RuPaul

I have several “adult” coloring books on my book shelves: pages of intricate mandalas and geometric designs. I decided at some point before I had children that these were to be saved for a special relaxing activity. And so they have sat there gathering dust between my old PoliSci texts from university and the crisp unturned pages of “The Artist’s Way“.

Enter a new phase of parenting: where my children are mobile, vocal, and thirsty for constant activity in their day. This morning, I woke up a few minutes before the family and got in a Seven workout before pitter-patters came my way. They patiently waited as I went through a second circuit. I like to reward small gestures of juvenile patience to encourage its speedy return. I sat down in our armchair with a cup of tea, a blanket, and a large stack of kids’ library books. When snuggle storytime came to an end, the kids wanted to do something.

I looked at the adult coloring books and told my daughter that I’d color with her today. I showed her my big mandala book. “Neat. I want to draw in one too.” Argh. And here it is, laid out in front of me: Is a moment more important than a collection of papers in this human experience? Absolutely.

I grabbed a smaller book full of mandalas for my daughter, and the geometric illusions book for my son. They took immediate delight in filling up the pages with broad crayon streaks and nimble pencil crayon strokes. They chose their colors with wild abandon and brought the black and white designs to life. They were quiet! Imagine that. These books were bringing me an immense feeling of calm.

What item(s) are you saving for a rainy day? What would lead you to using them today at this very moment?

More…

Leave a Reply

