Nine: For the Love of Salt

saltlamp_Fotor_Collage

“The cure for anything is salt water: sweat, tears, or the sea.” – Isak Dinesen

There is some debate over whether Himalayan salt lamps actually have restorative powers and health benefits. While scientific investigation seems to point to a minimal output of negative ions, I know this for sure – the darn lamps make me happy when they’re on. 

That’s no easy task. I have two children under the age of five, too many emails to read on any given day, and a temper. This blog is a big step for me to process what’s going on internally, and figuring out where I need to make changes in order to lead a more celebrated life. I get that the solutions aren’t external – but aren’t they sometimes? Objects of beauty, comfort, and sacred meaning are important to me, and lighting encompasses all three.

For the last five years, the lighting has been notoriously bad in my home. There were far too many task-lights and not enough ambient lighting fixtures. We purchased a stylish lamp for our reading area last year, and I felt like I’d made a leap from the days when I toted my six-foot tall halogen “torchiere” from one rental to another. A few months later, my husband received a pyramid salt lamp. We placed it in our kitchen where it can be seen from most of our general living space. It’s gorgeous. The plant that it was set next to started to perk up and sprout several inches taller. During the tougher moments of parenting, I’ve hidden in the kitchen and turned the lamp on. I don’t care if it’s a placebo, it gives me a dose of warm orange light and a loving hug for the eyes.

I found a local pharmacy that had the hunk of salt versions on sale for $10. I bought one, and returned later to buy another only to find that they had sold out. Oddly enough, I was able to “steal” another one at a family White Elephant gift exchange. Now I’m bathing in orange light.

More…

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

